Many promising clinical and preclinical assets are under-partnered: the originator lacks the capital or the team to develop them globally. A NewCo turns one of those assets into a US company: investors fund it, an experienced US team runs global development, and the originator keeps its home-market rights plus cash, equity, milestones and royalties. We source under-partnered assets worldwide, across the growing pool of licensable clinical and preclinical programs. We assess whether each one fits a NewCo, a straight license or a co-development deal, and work on both sides of the transaction: packaging assets, and connecting them with the investors, founders and pharma partners who build around them.
An originator licenses rights outside its home market (for example, ex-US or ex-Asia territorial rights) to a newly formed company (usually a Delaware corporation). Investors fund the NewCo, typically a Series A sized to reach a clinical inflection point, and recruit a US leadership team. The licensor is paid an upfront amount (cash and/or NewCo equity), development, regulatory and sales milestones, and royalties, and keeps its home-market rights. Value is realized when the NewCo raises later rounds, lists, or is acquired by a pharma company: Aiolos Bio (Hengrui asset) was acquired by GSK, and Ouro Medicines (Keymed asset) by Gilead; see the deal table.
Typical trade-offs: a licensor gives up near-term cash compared with a big-pharma license in exchange for equity upside and a dedicated global team; investors get a de-risked, often clinical-stage asset at a lower entry price than building from discovery. In many recent deals the upfront plus equity has been a small fraction of the headline value, so milestone design and governance matter.
Published papers, conference abstracts, company announcements. Used for screening.
Gate: noneOne page, licensor not named. Only information that is already public or approved by the owner for blinded circulation.
Gate: owner sign-offLicensor identified; non-public data summary, development plan, IP overview and indicative terms.
Gate: signed NDA with the asset ownerFull clinical, preclinical, CMC and regulatory documents, plus management Q&A, for serious bidders.
Gate: NDA + term-sheet stage, owner approval| NewCo / asset | Licensor | Investors / financing | Upfront | Milestones / total | Date | Later outcome | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SentiveraUndisclosed preclinical small molecule (type 2 inflammation) | Haisco Pharmaceutical | ARCH Venture Partners, Population Health Partners (founders); $83M committed capital | $40M cash + 17.5% equity (~$75.9M combined) | Up to $1.46B milestones + royalties (>$1.5B) | Aug 2026 | — | Haisco / PR NewswireFierce Biotech |
| Avere TherapeuticsAVR-001 (HS-20118), oral IL-23R antagonist | Hansoh Pharma | $320M private placement led by Fairmount and Hansoh; reverse merger with NextCure (Nasdaq: AVRX) | $120M | Up to $2.18B milestones + royalties | Jul 2026 | — | Fierce BiotechHansoh |
| R1 TherapeuticsAP306, pan-phosphate transporter inhibitor (hyperphosphatemia in dialysis) | Alebund Pharmaceuticals | $77.5M Series A co-led by Abingworth, DaVita Venture Group, F-Prime; with Curie.Bio, SymBiosis, US Renal Care | Not disclosed (Alebund receives equity) | Milestones up to low triple-digit $M + low double-digit royalties | Mar 2026 | — | AllSci |
| Braveheart BioHRS-1893 / BHB-1893, cardiac myosin inhibitor (HCM) | Jiangsu Hengrui | $185M Series A led by a16z Bio + Health, Forbion, OrbiMed; with Enavate Sciences, Frazier Life Sciences | $65M ($32.5M cash + $32.5M shares) + up to $10M near-term | Up to $1.013B milestones + royalties | Sep 2025 | — | HengruiBraveheart |
| Vor Bio (recapitalized, NewCo-style)Telitacicept (BLyS/APRIL fusion protein) | RemeGen | $175M private placement (PIPE) | $45M cash + $80M in warrants | Up to $4.105B milestones + tiered royalties | Jun 2025 | — | Vor Bio 8-K, SECRemeGen HKEX |
| Ollin BiosciencesVBS-102 / OLN102, TSHR×IGF-1R bispecific (thyroid eye disease) | VelaVigo | $100M launch led by ARCH Venture Partners, Mubadala Capital, Monograph Capital | Not disclosed (cash + equity) | Up to ~$440M incl. upfront + royalties | Apr 2025 | Launched publicly Sept 2025 | VelaVigo / PR NewswireBioPharma Dive |
| Windward BioHBM9378/SKB378 (WIN378), long-acting anti-TSLP antibody | Harbour BioMed & Kelun-Biotech | $200M Series A led by OrbiMed, Novo Holdings, Blue Owl; with SR One, Omega, RTW, Qiming, Quan Capital, Pivotal | $45M upfront + near-term (cash + parent equity) | Up to $970M incl. upfront + royalties | Jan 2025 | — | Harbour BioMed / PR NewswireWindward Bio |
| Verdiva BioOral ecnoglutide (XW004, weekly oral GLP-1) + 2 amylin agonists | Sciwind Biosciences | $411M Series A co-led by Forbion, General Atlantic; with RA Capital, OrbiMed, Logos, Lilly Asia Ventures, LYFE | ~$70M | >$2.4B milestones + royalties | Jan 2025 | — | SciwindBioPharma Dive |
| Timberlyne TherapeuticsCM313, anti-CD38 antibody | Keymed Biosciences | $180M Series A co-led by Abingworth, Bain Capital Life Sciences, Venrock HCP; with Boyu, Lilly Asia Ventures, Braidwell, 3H; formed by Mountainfield VP | $30M upfront + near-term + equity | Up to $337.5M milestones + royalties | Jan 2025 | — | Keymed HKEXTimberlyne / PR Newswire |
| Ouro MedicinesCM336 / OM336, BCMA×CD3 T-cell engager | Keymed Biosciences | Monograph Capital (42% at closing) | $16M upfront + near-term + minority equity (~15%) | Up to $610M milestones + royalties | Nov 2024 | Acquired by Gilead (closed Jun 2026): $1.675B upfront + up to $500M; Keymed received ~$257M | Keymed HKEX 2024Keymed HKEX 2026 |
| Belenos BiosciencesCM512 and CM536, bispecific antibodies | Keymed Biosciences | Funds affiliated with OrbiMed (50.26% at closing) | $15M upfront + near-term + 30.01% equity | Up to $170M milestones + royalties | Jul 2024 | — | Keymed HKEX |
| Kailera Therapeutics (Hercules CM NewCo)GLP-1 portfolio incl. HRS9531 (GLP-1/GIP) and HRS-7535 (oral GLP-1) | Jiangsu Hengrui | Bain Capital Life Sciences, Atlas Venture, RTW, Lyra Capital ($400M) | $110M upfront + near-term + 19.9% equity | Up to $200M dev./reg. + $5.725B sales milestones + royalties (~$6.0B) | May 2024 | $400M Series A (Oct 2024); Nasdaq IPO 2026 | CooleyKaileraJ.P. Morgan (IPO) |
| Avenzo TherapeuticsAVZO-021 (ARTS-021), CDK2 inhibitor + option on a second program | Allorion Therapeutics | $150M Series A-1 (Mar 2024) led by NEA, Deep Track, Sofinnova Investments, Sands Capital | $40M | >$1B potential (both programs) + royalties | Jan 2024 | — | Avenzo / PR NewswireAvenzo financing |
| Aiolos BioSHR-1905 / AIO-001, long-acting anti-TSLP antibody | Jiangsu Hengrui | $245M Series A co-led by Atlas, Bain Capital Life Sciences, Forbion, Sofinnova Investments; with RA Capital | $25M upfront + near-term (reported) | Up to ~$1B milestones + royalties (reported) | Aug 2023 | Acquired by GSK (Jan 2024): $1B upfront + up to $400M | Business WireGSKVCBeat |
| ArriVent BiopharmaFurmonertinib, EGFR TKI (NSCLC) | Allist Pharmaceuticals | Up to $150M Series A led by Hillhouse; with Lilly Asia Ventures, OrbiMed, Octagon, Boyu/Zoo, Lyra | $40M + equity | Up to $765M milestones + up to double-digit royalties | Jun 2021 | — | ArriVent / GlobeNewswireAllist |
Amounts are as disclosed and are not comparable one-to-one: some include equity or warrants, and milestones are contingent. “Reported” means figures come from press coverage rather than a company filing. Date = license announcement (month). Corrections: contact@
Engagement terms are agreed case by case; contact bd@
InLight Bio provides information and introductions only. It is not a broker-dealer, investment adviser or placement agent, and nothing on this site is an offer or solicitation to buy or sell any securities.
Asset owners, investors and NewCo founders: bd@inlightbio.com. We typically reply within 2 business days.